Daylight Savings Time

Happy Daylight Savings Time! It started on Sunday, March 8, 2015 at 2:00am and will end on Sunday, November 1, 2015 at 2:00am

DST-main-photoWhat is Daylight Savings Time?

Daylight saving time (DST) or Summer Time is the practice of turning the clocks one our ahead so that light extends into the evening hours.

The old adage comes into mind “Spring forward… Fall backward.”

Which States Observe DST?

Typically all states in the United States observe this Daylight Savings Time except most of Arizona, Hawaii, American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands. Occasionally, portions of Indiana also do not observe daylight savings time.

Which Countries Observe DST?

Worldwide-DSTMost areas of North America and Europe observe daylight saving time (DST), while most areas of Africa and Asia do not. In South America most countries in the north of the continent near the equator do not observe DST, while Paraguay, Uruguay, and southern parts of Brazil do. Oceania is also mixed, with New Zealand and parts of southeastern Australia observing DST, while most other areas do not.

While it takes a bit to adjust to the new time, just keep in mind that there’s more light now and more fun time to do things with the days growing longer. And don’t forget Spring is right around the corner!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *